Wednesday, August 11, 2010

#2

Wednesday, August 11th, 2010
Surprisingly, I may have (already) topped the list of "helping others" cliches (or, almost at least) with today's AoK. How, you may be wondering? Well, just short of helping an old lady cross the street... I helped a blind man cross the road... So, here's how it went down:
 While crossing a major street this afternoon, a blind man stepped out onto the road... my friends and I were walking beside him. As we walked, he started veering to the left, and into the way of oncoming traffic. I ran up to him and (after a moment of awkwardness and complete idiocy when I said 'this way' not realizing that he had no way of seeing where I was! - fail) told him to stay to the right. 

The experience left me feeling a little... weird. I don't know how else to say it. My friend and I burst into nervous giggles after we had safely crossed the street, and part of me was seized with the urge to stay beside him and help him navigate the crazy city streets... and we stayed close for a while, but it made me wonder: 
What must it feel like for someone who is disabled in any way to HAVE to get assistance from others? The man seemed grateful, but also very embarrassed. I know that if I were in the situation, I would be mortified. I like my independence, and don't like it when others step in and try to tell me how to do things... Is it ever hard to live, knowing that everyone around you is worrying for you?

I'd appreciate some other people's opinions on this... its a train of thought I haven't really encountered before.

Keep it Kind! :) 
and keep it lifted!
-C

3 comments:

  1. may have felt awky to you, but this person is probably ok with getting help
    and i like it because it was really something you didnt plan

    ReplyDelete
  2. :) thanks friend... but honestly, imagine what it must be like to (G-d forbid) be in that situation. Thinking back on it, I wonder if I really did this man a favor or not... I mean, I obviously did- keeping him from getting run over - but I wonder what he must feel like going home at the end of the day... if he ever thinks "G-d, I can't even cross the street by myself." In retrospect, I really wish that I had stayed and talked to the man a little instead of just running off... I hope he didn't feel like he was in the way or was embarrassed at all by how fast we left.
    Hmph.
    Ponderful.

    ReplyDelete
  3. umm i love that word ponderful
    comtemplative
    :D

    ReplyDelete